Argentina vs. Saudi Arabia World Cup Opener: Odds, Predictions And Head-to-Head Record

All eyes will turn to Argentina as the South American giant prepares to get its World Cup campaign underway against world-ranked 51 Saudi Arabia on Tuesday, 22 November.

Argentina’s virtuoso Lionel Messi has announced this will be his final World Cup and the PSG centre-forward is hoping his swansong is accompanied by silverware in Qatar. 

Check here for the full rundown on the World Cup betting odds, the two teams’ head-to-head record and where and what time the match is on locally.

Lionel Messi
Lionel Messi plans on retiring after the 2022 Qatar World Cup

Argentina is coming off the back of some impressive results – hammering Estonia 5-0 – with Messi scoring all 5 goals, turning the screw on Honduras 3-0 and putting Jamaica to the sword 3-0 in their most recent friendlies.

After being dumped out of the 2018 World Cup by eventual winners France in the last 16 – Lionel Scaloni’s men will be hoping to punch their ticket back with their draw against Saudi Arabia.

With Roma’s Paulo Dybala, Juventus’ Angel Di Maria, Benfica’s Nicolas Otamendi and nation starlet Lionel Messi – the La Albiceleste boast an incredible outfit coming into this contest. 

Meanwhile, Saudi Arabia has competed in five previous World Cups – 1994, 1998, 2002, 2006 and 2018 – and comes into group C as huge underdogs to claw their way out. Saudi Arabia is a huge +700 to qualify from Group C – with Argentina, Mexico and Poland all battling it out for a qualification spot.

Argentina vs.Saudi Arabia Match Information

Date: Tuesday, November 22, 2022

Time: 5:00 AM

Location: Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail

Argentina vs.Saudi Arabia Time By State 

ET: 6:00 AM

CT: 5:00 AM

MT: 4:00AM

PT: 3:00 AM

Argentina vs. Saudi Arabia Head-To-Head

The two nations have played each other 4 times – twice in the Bicentennial Gold Cup with a 2-2 draw and a 2-0 Argentina win. Once in the FIFA Confederations Cup where La Albiceleste won 3-1 and the two teams most recently drew out a 0-0 draw in a friendly in 2012.

Our Prediction
ARGENTINA TO WIN 4-0 +1000

Argentina vs. Saudi Arabia Predictions

BETUS in the US has made their predictions for this match. Argentina comes into the Qatar 2022 World Cup at +700 to win the competition and is a huge favorite against Saudi Arabia at -600 to win the opening game.

Argentina is riding a wave of momentum and has been chalking up the goals coming into Qatar. A sensible bet would be to attack the board with a scoreline result over a moneyline bet.

On the other side of the pitch – Saudi Arabia comes into this match as an overwhelming underdog – at a whopping +1900 to beat the former World Cup winners.

If you’re in a regulated state that legalizes sports betting, BETUS offers a whopping 125% sign-up bonus here if you fancy ramping up the excitement.