England vs. Iran Preview, Odds, Head-to-Head: World Cup Opener

The Three Lions prepare for their 2022 World Cup campaign opener in Qatar against minnows Iran in their first game of the group on Monday, November 21. England will be desperate to banish the memory of a woeful Nations League performance and bounce back against world No.21 ranked Iran. 

Check here for the full rundown on the World Cup betting odds, the two teams’ head-to-head record and where and what time the match is on locally.

Harry Kane 2020 Euros
Harry Kane leads the Three Lions into the 2022 Qatar World Cup

England played some truly sublime football at Euro 2020 – falling agonisingly short against Italy in the final on penalties. England comes into Qatar as the third favorite and is ranked as the world No.5.

The Three Lions looked like a pariah figure in the Nations League this year – Italy put the Euro finalists to the sword 1-0 while Germany let a 3-0 lead slip and was forced to share the spoils at 3-3.

Meanwhile, Iran will be tasked with the assignment to halt England’s World Cup dream start. The Middle Eastern outfit most recently drew 1-1 with Senegal and beat South American giants Uruguay 1-0.

This will be Iran’s third straight World Cup qualification and reports suggest that the team see their group as an easier one compared to the rest.

England vs. Iran Match Information

Date: Monday, November 21, 2022

Time: 8:00 AM

Location: Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan

England vs. Iran Time By State

ET: 8:00 AM

CT: 7:00 AM

MT: 6:00 AM

PT: 5:00 AM

England vs. Iran Head-To-Head

This will be the two nations’ first meeting. Iran has been a consistent contender on the international stage but has not yet met England in international competition.

Our Prediction
ENGLAND TO WIN 3-0 +800

England vs. Iran Predictions

BETUS in the US has made their predictions for this match. England comes into the contest as the heavy favorites at -325 and for good reason – the Three Lions made a semi-final appearance at the previous World Cup in Russia and lost on penalties at the 2020 Euro final.

A sensible bet would be to back England to win and their talisman Harry Kane to see the back of the net as a parlay –  meanwhile, Iran arrives as the plucky underdogs at +925. If you’re in a regulated state that legalizes sports betting, BETUS offers a whopping 125% sign-up bonus here if you fancy ramping up the excitement.