22 Premier League Players Sent Off On Their DEBUT

Your debut for a club is supposed to be one of the crowning achievements in your career. It’s the moment you dream of a player, the moment that keeps you up at night, tossing and turning on the eve of a game. Every player remembers their first touch on the pitch, as well as all the hype, build-up and fallout from their first appearance. 

In total, 18 players have scored on their Premier League debuts, and plenty others have announced their arrivals with some solid showings on Sofa Score.

But, what happens when the dream debut turns into a nightmare? In honor of Joao Felix’s red card on his Chelsea debut, join us here at SinkorSwimSports as we run through all 22 Premier League players who have been SENT OFF on their debut! 

Joao Felix vs Fulham 2023
Joao Felix was sent off on his Chelsea debut against Fulham

An Unwelcome Club For Joao To Join

Joao Felix only joined Chelsea about 33 hours and one training session before his Premier League debut. The Atletico Madrid forward was signed by the Blues on a six-month loan spell worth approximately £9.7m. 

To be fair, his debut had been one of the most exciting parts of Chelsea’s so far, starting brightly in the Blues’ Thursday night loss away to Fulham. However, after an absolute horror challenge on Kenny Tete in the 58th minute, the Portuguese forward was shown a straight red card by referee David Coote. 

The forward received a three-match ban, meaning his loan spell will now cost Chelsea $666,666 per game.

Players Sent Off On Their Debuts

Check out all the players who have also been sent off on the Premier League debuts:



Jeroen Boere

West Ham v Newcastle, 1993

Brian Carey

Leicester v Wimbledon, 1994

Michael Brown

Manchester City v QPR, 1995

Lee Hendrie

Aston Villa v QPR, 1995

Matt Clarke

Sheffield Wednesday v Liverpool, 1997

Richard Rufus

Charlton v Newcastle, 1998

Tomas Repka

West Ham v Middlesbrough, 2001

Derek McInnes

West Brom v Manchester United, 2002

Steven Reid

Blackburn v Bolton, 2003

Christian Negouai

Manchester City v Everton, 2004

Neil Kilkenny

Birmingham v Liverpool, 2005

Iain Turner

Everton v Blackburn, 2006

Bernardo Corradi

Manchester City v Chelsea, 2006

Kalifa Cisse

Reading v Chelsea, 2007

Kagisho Dikgacoi

Fulham v West Ham, 2009

Jack Colback

Sunderland v Wolves, 2010

Laurent Koscielny

Arsenal v Liverpool, 2010


Arsenal v Newcastle, 2011

Clint Hill

QPR v Bolton, 2011

Samba Diakite

QPR v Fulham, 2012

Federico Fazio

Tottenham v Manchester City, 2014

Joao Felix

Chelsea v Fulham, 2023