Qatar vs. Ecuador World Cup Opener: Early Odds, Predictions And Head-to-Head Record

World Cup hosts Qatar will headline the tournament’s curtain-raiser as they clash heads with Ecuador on November 20. Qatar fell short against Canada in a recent friendly 2-0 and shared the spoils with Chile 2-2. 

The World Cup proprietors will be hoping to bounce back and start their World Cup campaign off with a bang. Check here for the full rundown on the World Cup betting odds, the two teams’ head-to-head record and where and what time the match is on locally.

Qatar World Cup
Qatar commences its campaign at the 2022 World Cup against Ecuador

World-ranked 50 Qatar, who automatically qualified for the tournament through hosting it, will be looking to put their nation on the map against Ecuador.

Qatar has had mixed fortunes of late – securing a 1-1 draw with Jamaica, losing to Croatia u23s 3-o, losing to Canada 2-0 and playing out a barnburner 2-2 with Chile. The hosts will take center stage against Ecuador, with the Netherlands and Senegal also in Group A.

Ecuador’s recent form has been poor – being unable to find the back of the net in their last two. The South American nation played out an egregious 0-0 against Japan back in September and repeated another poor 0-0 against Saudi Arabia. Brighton & Hove Albion’s Moises Caicedo and Jeremy Sarmiento will be key to scrambling out of Group A for Ecuador.

Qatar vs. Ecuador Match Information

Date: Sunday, November 20, 2022

Time: 11:00 AM

Location: Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor

Qatar vs. Ecuador Time By State 

ET: 11:00 AM

CT: 10:00 AM

MT: 9:00 AM

PT: 8:00 AM

Qatar vs. Ecuador Head-To-Head

The two nations have played each other three times in all freindlies. Qatar held Ecuador to a 1-1 draw, back in 1996 and lost 2-1 in the same year. Most recently Ecuador won 4-3 – besting the host nation by 1 in their head-to-head record.

Our Prediction
ECUADOR TO WIN OVER 2 GOALS -170

Qatar vs. Ecuador Predictions

BETUS in the US has made their predictions for this match. Ecuador comes into the contest against the hosts as the favorites at +105while Qatar comes into the game as the underdogs at +275. The South American nation failed to qualify in 2018 but successfully booked its place on the plane to Qatar. 

Ecuador will rely on Premier League superstars Moises Caicedo and Jeremy Sarmiento – while also depending on Brighton & Hove Albion’s left-back Pervis Estupiñán to steady up the back-line. Qatar has never qualified for a World Cup and will be desperate to leave some indelible mark on home soil.

SinkorSwimSports predicts a win for Ecuador here at +105. If you’re in a regulated state that legalizes sports betting, BETUS offers a whopping 125% sign-up bonus here if you fancy ramping up the excitement.